oh rainy day

I honestly love running, and I have no idea why. I couldn’t tell you about a life-changing run or a heartwarming story about perseverance or how I truly found myself through running, but I can tell you that I cannot stop. Even after my worst runs, aka the terrible 10 miler up the canyon that shall never be spoken of again, I always find myself back at it in a day or two. I don’t feel like myself if I haven’t somehow squeezed in even a 2 or 3 mile run in the morning. That runner’s high is worth every single step.

And I got my reward at the end of the Riverbank 10k. I decided to run it a while back amidst my half-marathon “training” (I really have no idea what I’m doing), and then completely forgot about it. Luckily I was reminded a week ago, and this morning I pounded out a breezy 6.22 miles before the sun came out. Mostly because the sun never came out.

I ran the race with my sister, and she was kind enough to go at my pace. She’s competitive and faster than me, so her slowing down to run with me was a sign of true love. We were both freezing while waiting for the race to start, but after we got moving it was smooth sailing.

Image

pink and yellow runners killin’ it. kinda.

Despite the miserable weather, my sister and I ran the entire race and finished at 53:12 (8:33 min/mi that’s wassup). We actually held a pretty steady 8:45-8:50 pace throughout the race, but at the end we decided to book it.

(warning: I am so unphotogenic it’s almost concerning)

Image

right shin rebelling but we made it. hallelujahhh.

The course was fairly flat, which was a wonderful thing. That’s one thing that I seriously miss about school: flat running trails. I swear, every place I run at home has some serious hills. I know hills are good for you and all that, but lesbehonest. Hills suck. Towards the end of the race there was a slight hill, but the downhill after it was perfect for picking up the pace. My sister and I had a speedy 8:00 min/mi for mile 6 and flew over the finish.

Even with shin pain and gloomy weather, the feeling after the run made it all worth it. That runner’s high, I tell ya. Worth every beautiful step of those 6.22 miles.

Leave a Reply

